QPP Development Continues…

Well, my initial queuing model library implementation met my immediate needs, but I need to make some changes to make it useful in the long term. The initial design was based on PerfDynamics PDQ library, but it has some serious limitations. The most important one is its limited support of multi-class and multi-server queues. So in the spirit of open source development, I’m stealing from other programs.

The Java Modeling Tools (JMT) project has a good set of routines implemented in Java. I’m in the process of porting these to Java and shoe-horning them into my API. It should be possible to incorporate all the new functionality without changing the API.

And of course, the final results will be GPL.

This is a pretty exciting project on a number of levels. Aside from the obvious capabilities provided by the library, it’s a pretty interesting project both in terms of porting and in optimization. Remember that I’m tying these routines into a genetic algorithm, so they will be called thousands of times. Efficiencies are far more important to me than they were to the initial implementers.

The saga continues…

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment